The Summer Past

Dad Packing My family goes on a vacation every year, and it’s always one of the things I look forward to the most. Sometimes, because of what I do, I’m out of the country and am unable to go, but this past summer, that was not the case. This summer was also a little different than past summers. In March, I got married and three months later, my maid of honor got married (who also happens to be my cousin). My aunt (her mom) and my mom are sisters and best friends and we always go on vacation together since as long as I can remember.
This summer, we visited the Poconos in Pennsylvania. It was a different experience than ever before because we went from having our married parents and 5 kids to 4 married couples and 2 single “kids” (who are not actually kids anymore). We had a more adventurous vacation than ever before. We went on a 15 mile bike ride, played tennis, went on a hike, some went fishing, zip lining, and on a segway tour all within 5 days. Let’s just say it was an adventure of a vacation. We ended the week by spending two long days in New York City.

What did I learn from this whole time? That my parents can’t stand sitting still, and that being active can bring family together.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

